Save the Date with free template

The Save the Date was my first publicly viewed DIY project I could sink my teeth into for our wedding, so as you can imagine, I was excited and spent far too much time on it… After what felt like 6000 attempts, and fails, we finally settled on one final option that contained everything we wanted.

IMG_4002-blog


Supplies Needed for this Project:

  • 4×6 photo
  • Cardstock paper
  • Printer and ink
  • Double sided tape (I bought mine at the dollar store)
  • Stick on Magnets (Don’t cheap out on these too much or they will just fall off)

Our wedding photography package included an engagement photo shoot so we chose to do the shoot a year prior to the wedding so that we could use one of the photo for our Save the Dates.  Yes… I’m pretty sure the photographer had never done an engagement shoot so far before the wedding, but it worked well for us and she was willing!

Prior to the engagement shoot I made up a banner that we held up in the photo that said our wedding date (See my post on how to make one here).  We printed ordinary 4×6 prints of this photo.

Save the date- Final

In a microsoft document I then created strips of info to put around the pictures.  I printed three strips her page and printed them onto cardstock kraft paper.  I bought the kraft paper at Michaels with a 40% coupon, can’t go wrong!  It looked really sharp printed with plain black ink too so I saved some money there not needing to print with colour.

The Word Document for the Info Strips: Save the Date- Info Strip

Once the strips were printed I cut them with my paper trimmer.  Over the course of wedding planning I purchased two paper trimmers and my favourite was the Martha Stewart Crafts Simple Paper Trimmer.

Once cut, we folded them evenly over the pictures.

IMG_4005

Using double sided tape, we stuck the ends of the strips together to create a loop or circle out of the strip (i.e. we didn’t actually attach it to the back of the photo).

IMG_4008

IMG_4009

To finish it off we glued small magnets to the back four corners of the picture so people could hang it on their fridges and not forget the date!

IMG_4010

The template for the information strips: Save the Date- Info Strip

*I apologize for the poor quality of some of these photos!  They were taken hastily while rushing to get the project done!

2 thoughts on “Save the Date with free template

Leave a Reply

